Brian Slagel's Metal Massacre compilation is released and features Metallica's "Hit the Lights" as the closing track. On the first pressing, the recording featured James on rhythm guitar, bass, and vocals, Lars on drums, and Lloyd Grant on lead guitar. On all subsequent pressings, a re-recorded version was included featuring James and Lars alongside Dave Mustaine on lead guitar and Ron McGovney on bass.