back S&M

Release Info
Release Date: November 23, 1999
Peak Chart Position: #2
Producer: Bob Rock with Hetfield, Ulrich, & Kamen
Recording Location: Berkeley Community Theatre, Berkeley,CA


Original Release

Song Written By  
The Ecstasy of Gold (Live) Morricone AudioDownload
The Call of Ktulu (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich/Burton/Mustaine AudioDownload
Master of Puppets (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich/Burton/Hammett AudioDownload
Of Wolf & Man (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich/Hammett AudioDownload
The Thing That Should Not Be (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich/Hammett AudioDownload
Fuel (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich/Hammett AudioDownload
The Memory Remains (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich AudioDownload
No Leaf Clover (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich AudioVideoDownload
Hero of the Day (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich/Hammett AudioDownload
Devil's Dance (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich AudioDownload
Bleeding Me (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich/Hammett AudioDownload
Nothing Else Matters (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich AudioDownload
Until It Sleeps (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich AudioDownload
For Whom the Bell Tolls (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich/Burton AudioDownload
- Human (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich AudioDownload
Wherever I May Roam (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich AudioDownload
The Outlaw Torn (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich AudioDownload
Sad But True (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich AudioDownload
One (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich AudioDownload
Enter Sandman (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich/Hammett AudioDownload
Battery (Live) Hetfield/Ulrich AudioDownload


James Hetfield - Guitar, Vocals
Lars Ulrich - Drums
Kirk Hammett - Guitar
Jason Newsted - Bass
Michael Kamen - Conductor of the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra

Recorded live at the Berkeley Community Theater in Berkeley, California, on April 21-22, 1999 using the Effanel Music and Westwood One mobile recording trucks.

All songs arranged and orchestrated and conducted by Michael Kamen

Producer: Bob Rock with Hetfield & Ulrich
Engineer: Bob Rock & Randy Staub
Orchestra Engineer: Stephen P. McLaughlin
Technical Assistant: John Vrtacic

Mixed by Randy Staub
Assistants: Stephen P. McLaughlin, James Brett, Kent Matcke, Darren Grahn, Leff Leffertz and Billy Konkel
Digital Editors: Mike Gillies, Darren Grahn, Paul DeCarli and Billy Bowers
Mixed and edited at The Plant Studios, Sausalito, CA from August to October 1999
Additional editing at Plantation Studios, Maui, HI

Music Preparation: Michael Price and James Brett with Blake Neely
Music Copying: Vic Fraser and Blake Neely
Orchestrations by Michael Kamen with Bob Elhai, Brad Warnar, Blake Neely, Geoff Alexander, Chris Boardman, Bruce Babcock, Ted Allen, Pete Anthony and Jonathan Sacks

Mastered by George Marino

Photography: Anton Corbijn
Design & Layout: Andie Airfix at Satori

Management: Q Prime, Inc.
Michael Kamen Management: Robert Urband

All songs © 1999 Creeping Death Music (ASCAP)
© 1999 E/M Ventures